PhysCon 2016

Support Student Travel to PhysCon!

Your donations help us continue to encourage and support undergraduate physics students with scholarships, career resources, and professional development. Annual donations from Sigma Pi Sigma and SPS members help ensure the future of the physical sciences.

As the 2016 Quadrennial Physics Congress (PhysCon) draws near, we are asking you to make a gift to benefit the Congress Student Travel Fund (CSTF). The CSTF will assist undergraduate students with traveling to this once-in-a-lifetime conference. PhysCon 2016 Unifying Fields: Science Driving Innovationallows students to be in the presence of scientists who are working and living in the spaces where the aspiring scientists hope to one day reside.

In preparation for PhysCon, we ask you to help us make PhysCon a mega-success and make your donation to the CSTF.

Here is a brief reference on how your gift to the CSTF can benefit students who want to attend PhysCon.

  • 10 gifts of $160π will help 10 students, from underrepresented groups, travel to PhysCon
  • 8 gifts of $8π will provide a Congress (PhysCon) Travel Award for a student presenting a poster
  • 5 gifts of $32π will fund a Reporter Award, allowing a student to attend and report on PhysCon
  • 4 gifts of $16π will cover PhysCon registration for one student in financial need
Donation Information
$ 25.13
$ 50.27
$ 100.53
$ 157.08
$ 251.33
$ 502.66
$ 1,002.17

Unifying Fields: 
Science Driving Innovation

November 3 - 5, 2016
San Francisco, California
Interactive Workshops • Poster Sessions • Art Contest • and More!

Confirmed Speakers

  • Jocelyn Bell Burnell
  • Eric Cornell
  • Persis Drell
  • S. James Gates
  • Neil Turok
  • Patrick Brady

Confirmed Tour Sites

  • SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
  • NASA’s Ames Research Center
  • Google X

Learn how you can participate in the largest gathering of physics undergraduate students.


Jon C. Levin Scholarship

Dr. Jon Levin, professor of physics at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, was a dedicated SPS Zone 8 Councilor, and an outstanding and very generous member of Sigma Pi Sigma. He will be remembered for conducting countless outreach projects with his students and mentoring those with a curious mind for the physical sciences. His love of teaching and compassion for his students earned him a 2015 nomination for the SPS Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award.

© 2013 American Institute of Physics     |     contact us     |     privacy policy     |     site map     RSS feed info